This is the "All Databases - A to Z" page of the "A to Z Resource List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A to Z Resource List  

Last Updated: Jul 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.westmont.edu/allresources Print Guide RSS Updates

All Databases - A to Z Print Page
  Search: 
 

A

  • ABI/Inform Dateline
    Use this database to find business information from local and regional perspectives beyond the coverage found in national sources.
  • ABI/Inform Global
    Use this database to find the latest business, economic, and financial information from major business publications.
  • ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry
    Use this database to find critical information about companies and products, to analyze industry trends, and to compare specific industries.
  • Academic Search Elite
    Use this database to find articles related to virtually any topic or subject.
  • Access Science
    Use this online encyclopedia to find background and general information on all major areas of science and technology.
  • ACM Digital Library
    Use this digital library to find articles related to computing as a science and that promote the computing profession; articles are published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM)
  • AltHealth Watch
    Use this database to find health related information with an emphasis on holistic and alternative approaches to medicine and health care.
  • America History and Life
    Use this database to find articles and information on the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Use Historical Abstracts instead to find articles related to World history.
  • Annual Reviews
    Use this resource to find articles that review and synthesize the most significant primary research contributions made each year for a variety of scientific disciplines.
  • Anthropology Plus
    Use this database to find articles related to anthropology.
  • Anthrosource
    Use this database to discover articles related to anthropology, published in journals from the American Anthropological Association.
    Note: this database provides citation information for articles, but not the full text of articles. Ask a librarian if you need help locating the full text of an article you find through this database.
  • ArticleFirst
    Use this database to discover articles related to virtually any topic or subject. Ask a librarian if you have trouble locating the full-text of a resource you find through this database.
  • ArXiv
    Use this freely available resource to find research articles in the fields of mathematics, computer science, physics, and more. This resource is maintained by Cornell University Library.
  • ATLA Religion Database and ATLA Serials
    Use this database to find articles, books, and essays related to all fields of religion.

B

  • Benezit Dictionary of Artists
    Use this dictionary to find artist's biographical information, museum listings, bibliographies, exhibition information, and auction records. Note: this resource only allows one user at a time.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art/International Bibliography of Art
    Use this database to discover journal articles about art history.
    Note: this database provides citation information, but not the full text of articles. Look for the “search for full text” link in the database, or ask a librarian if you need help locating an article you find through this database.
  • Biological Abstracts
    Use this database to find articles and information related to the life sciences, such as botany, microbiology, and pharmacology.
    Note: this database provides citation information, but not the full text of articles. Look for the "search for full text" link in the database, or ask a librarian if you need help locating an article you find through this database.
  • Book Review Digest
    Use this database to find book reviews for current fiction and non-fiction titles.
    Note: this database provides the full text of some book reviews, but not all. Look for the "check for full text" link in the database or ask a librarian if you need help locating a review you find through this database.
  • Business Full Text
    Use this database to find articles on business topics such as product reviews, corporate profiles, and conference reports.
  • Business Source Elite
    Use this database to find articles from peer-reviewed business journals covering business, management, and economics topics.<

C

  • California Digital Newspaper Collection
    Use this freely available resource to find historical California newspapers published between 1846-1922.
  • Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO)
    Use this resource to find images of works of art from cultures around the world and from prominent museum collections.
  • Charles Evans Bibliography
    Use this resource to find early-American publications like newspapers, pamphlets, gazetteers, and more.
  • Choice
    Use this book reviewing tool, geared toward faculty and librarians, to learn about the latest publications for higher education.
  • Christian Periodicals Index
    Use this database to find articles about religion and theology, as well as articles from many other disciplines written from a Christian perspective.
  • Clase Periodica
    Use this database to discover journal articles in the sciences and humanities published in Spanish, French, Portuguese and English.
    Note: this database provides citation information for articles, but not necessarily the full text of articles. Look for the "search for full text" link in the database or ask a librarian if you need help locating an article you find through this database.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
    Use this resource to find articles, working papers and conference proceedings dealing with international affairs.
  • Communication Abstracts
    Use this database to discover articles in the field of communication, mass media, rhetoric, and journalism.
    Note: this database provides citation information for articles, but not the full text of articles. Ask a librarian if you need help locating the full text of an article you find through this database.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
    Use this database to find articles in the field of communication studies and other closely-related fields.
  • CQ Weekly
    Use this publication to find the latest information about what is going on in the United States Congress. Also use this publication to find historical information on Congressional activity starting in 1983.
  • Credo Reference
    Use this resource to find brief, background information on just about any topic. A solid, trustworthy alternative to Wikipedia. See also: Oxford Reference Online.

D

  • Dissertations and Theses: Humanities and Social Sciences Collection
    Use this database to find Masters theses and PhD dissertations in the humanities and social sciences.
    Note: this database always provides citation information for papers, but not necessarily the full text of those dissertations or theses. Look for the "search for full" link in the database or ask a librarian if you need help locating a paper you find through this database.

E

  • EconLit
    Use this resource to find e-books, journals, working papers and more related to economic issues in international relations and social conditions.
  • Education Full Text
    Use this resource to find articles related to the field of education at all levels.
  • eHRAF World Cultures
    Use eHRAF (Human Relations Area Files) World Cultures to find information on all aspects of cultural and social life around the world.
  • Encyclopedia Judaica
    Use this encyclopedia to find brief articles about Jewish life, culture and history.
  • Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Routledge)
    Use this encyclopedia to find brief articles related to philosophy
  • ERIC
    Use this resource to find journal articles and government reports related to education, going back to 1966.

F

  • Financial Times
    Use this resource to read the news, commentary, and analysis of world news.
    Note: Westmont has a subscription to FT.com, but you must create your free account with FT.com to read articles in full text. Follow the directions at FT.com
  • Funk and Wagnalls Encyclopedia
    Use this online encyclopedia to find general and background information on just about any topic.

G

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Use this online collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries to find background information on just about any subject.
  • General Science Full Text
    Use this database to find articles on many aspects of science, with an emphasis on articles for non-scientists interested in science topics.
  • Government Publications Office -- Federal Digital System
    FDsys "provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government."
  • Green File
    Use this database to find information on all aspects of human impact on the environment, including content related to pollution, sustainability, renewable energy, and global warming.
  • Grove Encyclopedia of American Art
    Use this online encyclopedia to find brief articles on American art and architecture from Native American cultures and Colonial times to the present day.

H

  • Health Source: Consumer Edition
    Use this database to find reliable health information geared toward the general population.
  • Health Source Nursing/Academic
    Use this database to find articles from scholarly journals related to health and nursing. This database includes drug information sheets geared for patients.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Use this database to discover articles about world history from 1450 to the present. Use America, History and Life to find articles related to American or Canadian history.
  • Humanities Full Text
    Use this database to find articles on all aspects of the humanities; the "humanities" includes subjects like art, literature, music, religion, history, philosophy, and much more.
  • Humanities International Index
    Use this database to find articles on all aspects of the humanities; the "humanities" includes subjects like art, literature, music, religion, history, philosophy, and much more.
    Note: this database provides citation information for articles, but not necessarily the full-text of articles. Look for the "search for full text" link in the database or ask a librarian if you need help locating an article you find through this database.

I

  • Iter
    Use this database to discover articles about the middle ages and renaissance.
    Note: this database provides citation information for articles, but not necessarily the full text of articles. Ask a librarian if you need help locating the full text of an article you find through this database.
  • ICPSR
    Use this resource to find datasets in the social sciences.

J

  • JSTOR
    Use this extensive database to find articles from a wide range of journals on many topics.
    Note: access to most journal articles in this database is limitied to articles 3-5 years old and older, but all articles are full text and coverage extends to the first issue of each journal included in the database. Consult other databases for articles that are too new for JSTOR.

L

M

  • MAS Ultra -School Edition
    Use this database to find magazine articles about current events geared toward secondary school students.
  • Military and Government Collection
    Use this database to find articles and current news pertaining to all branches of the United States military.
  • MLA Directory of Periodicals
    Use this database to look up journal titles in the literature and linguistics field.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Use this database, geared toward scholars of literature, to find literary criticism and works on linguistics, folklore, drama and more.
  • Music Index
    Use this database to find articles related to music, musicians and the music industry.

N

O

  • OAIster
    Use this database to find open access digital resources like photographs, theses, videos, audio files, and more. Use this database to discover primary source materials.
  • Old Testament Abstracts
    Use this database to find articles on all aspects of the Old Testament and its historical context.
  • OmniFile Full Text
    Use this database to find articles published on all subjects.
  • Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
    Use this dictionary to define just about any word. The OED is self-described as “the definitive record of the English language.
  • Oxford Music Online
    Use this resource to access Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Use this collection of online reference books to find background information on just about any topic. A solid, trustworthy alternative to Wikipedia. See also: Credo.

P

  • PAIS and PAIS Archive
    Use this database to find articles, books, and government documents related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.
  • PapersFirst
    Use this resource to discover papers presented at conferences worldwide.
    Note: this database provides citation information of paper, but not necessarily the full text of papers. Look for the "search for full text" link in the database or ask a librarian if you need help locating an article you find through this database.
  • Philosopher's Index
    Use this database to find scholarly articles in all fields of philosophy.
  • Primary Search
    Use this database to find magazine articles about current events geared toward elementary school students.
  • PrivCo
    Use this database to access otherwise hard-to-find financial and business information on private companies.
  • Proceedings
    Use this resource to discover papers presented at conferences worldwide.
    Note: this database provides citation information for papers, but not necessarily the full text of papers. Look for the "search for full text" link in the database or ask a librarian if you need help locating an article you find through this database.
  • Project Muse
    Use this database to find articles from scholarly publications, with an emphasis on the humanities and the social sciences.
  • ProQuest Religion
    Use this database to find articles about religions, doctrines, philosophies of religion, and religious history.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    Use this general database to find articles in many subject areas.
  • Psychology Journals from Elsevier/ScienceDirect
    Use this database to access full-text psychology journals from Elsevier (available through ScienceDirect). Use the fields in the top left-hand corner to begin your search.
  • PsycArticles
    Use this database to find scholarly articles about psychology and the social, behavioral and health sciences.
  • PsycInfo
    Use this database to find scholarly articles about psychology and the social, behavioral and health sciences.
  • PubMed
    Use this database to discover citations and abstracts for articles in life science journals.
        Note: Some articles are freely available in PubMed. For others, check whether we subscribe to the journal you need here.

R

  • Reader's Guide Full Text
    Use this database to find articles in popular magazines on many subjects.
  • Regional Business News
    Use this database to find news articles published in regional business publications, including both metropolitan and rural areas in the United States.
  • Roper Center
    Use this resource to find data from public opinion surveys from the 1930s to the present mostly from the United States.

S

  • Sage Premier
    Use this database to find articles on topics related to business, the humanities, science, the social sciences, technology and medicine.
  • Science
    Read full-text articles from the "world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research."
  • Scifinder Scholar Web
    Use this essential chemistry database to find articles in chemistry and related science fields as well as substance information and current chemical reaction information.
  • Shakespeare Survey Online
    Use this resource, published annually since 1948, to find the best international scholarship on Shakespeare.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Use this database to find articles on both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, including gender studies, psychology, family studies, and sociology.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    Use this database to discover articles related to social work, human services, social policy, and community development.
    Note: this database provides citation information for articles, but not always the full text of articles. Look for the “search for full text” link in the database or ask a librarian if you need help locating an article you find through this database.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Use this powerful database to discover articles on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines.
    Note: this database provides citation information for articles, but not always the full-text of articles. Ask a librarian if you need help locating the full text of an article you find through this database.
  • Springer Journals
    Use this resource to find recently published articles on most major subjects.
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    Use this online encyclopedia to find brief articles written and maintained by experts in the field of philosophy.
  • Statesman's Yearbook
    Use this resource to find reliable information on every country of the world, including population, social statistics, international relations, economy, and much more.
  • Statista
    Statista is an "innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information."

T

  • Teacher Reference Center
    Use this database to find articles related to teachers and teaching, curriculum development, literacy standards, assessment, and other topics of interest to K-12 teachers.

W

  • World Almanacs
    Use this group of online encyclopedias to find general and background information on just about any topic. See also: Credo and Oxford Reference Online.
  • World Religion Database
    Use this database to find detailed statistics on the religious affiliation of people throughout the world.
  • World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
    Use this database to discover articles dealing with Shakespeare-related scholarship.
    Note: this database provides citation information for articles, but not the full text of articles. Look for the "search for full text" link in the database or ask a librarian if you need help locating an article you find through this database.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Use this database to discover articles related to political science and its related fields, including international relations, law, political theory, and more.
    Note: this database provides citation information for articles, but not the full text of articles. Look for the "search for full text" link in the database or ask a librarian if you need help locating an article you find through this database.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip